The WHO Secretary has convened an emergency committee under Article 48 of the International Health Regulations in connection with the current outbreak of the monkeypox virus. The meeting will be held on June 23, 2022 and is open only to members and advisors of the Emergency Committee.

The purpose of this conference is to provide the WHO Executive Secretary with an opinion on whether the event constitutes a public health emergency of international concern and any potential temporary recommendations proposed.

List of participants


Dr. Jean-Marie Okwo-Bele-Public Health Consultant for the Democratic Republic of the Congo
Former Director of Vaccines and Immunization at WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)


Dr. Nicola Law- Associate Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health Medicine, Institute of Social Preventive Medicine, University of Bern, Switzerland

Other members

Dr. Daniel Bausch-Switzerland, Senior Director of Global Alliance for Diagnosis, FIND, New Threats and Global Health Security

Dr. Clarissa Damasso-Associate Professor, Institute of Biophysics, Carlos Chagas Filho, Institute of Viral Molecular Biology, Federal University of Rio de Janeiro, Brazil

Dr. Inger Damon (Reporter)-Director, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, High-Results Pathogens and Pathology

Dr. Jake Dunning-Senior Research Fellow, Tropical Medicine and Global Health Center, Faculty of Clinical Medicine, Oxford University, UK

Dr. Usman Phi-Director, Virology Unit, Pasteur de Dakar Institute, Senegal

Dr. Rinat Maksyutov-Secretary of the Federal Budget Research Institute-Russian Federation, VECTOR, National Research Center for Federal Services, Virology and Biotechnology for Consumer Rights Protection and Monitoring of Human Health

Dr. Othoman Mellouk-Lead, Access to Diagnosis and Medicine, International Association for Preparation for Treatment, Morocco

Dr. Dimie Ogoina-Director, Infectious Diseases Unit, Okolobiri General Hospital, Niger Delta University, Bayelsa, Nigeria

Dr. Nittaya Phanupak-Secretary General, Institute for HIV Research and Innovation, Bangkok, Thailand

Dr. Ann Limoan-University of California, Los Angeles, United States, Fielding School of Public Health, Professor of Epidemiology of Infectious Diseases and Public Health and Gordon Levin Endowed Lecture

Dr. Tomoya Saito-Director, Emergency Response and Response Center National Institute of Infectious Diseases

Dr. Kathrin Summermatter-Head of Biosafety Center and Managing Director of BSL3, Institute of Infectious Diseases, University of Bern, Switzerland

Dr. Daniel Tarantla-Deputy Research Professor, Institute for Global Health Inequality, Keck School of Medicine, University of Southern California, USA Former Director of Vaccines and Immunization at WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

Dr. Zunyou Wu Chief Epidemiologist, Chinese Center for Disease Control and Prevention, Head of HIV Prevention, NCAIDS / China CDC, China and Associate Professor of Epidemiology, University of California, Los Angeles


Dr. Steve Afka-Democratic Republic of the Congo, Dean of the Department of Virology, National Institute of Biomedical Sciences

Dr. Demetre Daskalakis-Director of HIV / AIDS Prevention, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, United States

Dr. Clayton Eusebio Delima-Senior Advisor to the Community and Major Populations at UNAIDS Headquarters in Geneva, Switzerland

Dr. Greg Gonzalves-Associate Professor of Epidemiology, Yale University Graduate School of Public Health, Yale University Global Health Institute

Dr. David Hayman-Professor of Infectious Disease Epidemiology, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, UK. Head, Global Health Security Center, Chatham House, London, United Kingdom; and Former Assistant Director of Health and Security, WHO Headquarters, Geneva, Switzerland (retired)

Dr. Wanda Marcotter-Director, Zoonotic Disease Center, Department of Medical Virus, University of Pretoria, South Africa

Dr. Gianfranco Spiteri-Sweden, Center for European Disease Control and Control, Epidemic Intelligence Group, Group Leader

Dr. Teresatum-Public Health Agency of Canada Secretary, Canada

By Author

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.